Listen to the quiet

“and when love leaves, turn the music off, listen to the quiet and whisper: ” Thank you for stopping by”. ” – Sarah Kay

I’m scared to turn the music off Sarah …
I don’t want to listen to myself
the quiet is scary …
The quiet is lonely …
the quiet .. is all i have heard for a while …
i’m scared that the quiet is starting to leave the room and sneak into me …
settling into my heart …
The darkness of the room starts to shadow my eyes …
The quiet scares me …
The door is closed shut … The room is empty …

He never came …
I had dreamt of him sitting by me so many times …
That for a moment I honestly thought he was by my side …
until one day … he asked me to leave … so he can be .. comfortable …
I was taking up too much space …

He never came …
It did not matter … what i said or did …
it mostly did not matter, how much i felt …

He never came …
I only had an illusion of a love song playing …
he was singing it for someone else …
He never came … Now that even his shadow has left the room and slammed the door shut …
The quiet has settled in too deeply …

it’s too quiet Sarah …
it’s too dark …
it’s too lonely …
it hurts .. it used to hurt … now it just … scares me how empty it all is …

when the quiet creeps in on you from the back doors of a ruined heart …
he steals every bit of precious feelings, he passes by memories and takes away the meaning of each and every one …
He creeps in and empties the heart .. he may leave a picture here or a sad song there .. just a compliment to the humanity left in us …

But still …

you know he’s come by when … Nothing makes you feel anything …
And anything you go through fades away as soon as you sit by yourself …
he’s come by …
he’s wiped you clean …
The quiet is no second-hand thief …

Leave a Reply

